1Chairman of the UIC Council
Professor Xu Jialu
   
 

Prof. Xu Jialu is the former Vice-Chairman of the Standing Committee of the Chinese National People's Congress. He graduated from Beijing Normal University in 1959 and remained as staff member and, later, Chairman of the Faculty of Chinese Language until 1987. From 1987-1994 Prof. Xu was Vice-President of Beijing Normal University and a member of the Standing Committee of the Chinese National People's Congress. Subsequently, he was named Chairman of the Working Committee on Language and Linguistics under the NPC and Vice-Chairman of the Standing Committee of NPC. With numerous publications on language and linguistics, Prof. Xu is an authority in the field. In 2005 he was awarded an honorary doctorate by Hong Kong Baptist University.


President Tang2 1President of UIC
Professor Tang Tao
Mathematician, Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences

Professor Tang Tao obtained his Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics from Peking University in 1984, followed by a PhD in Applied Mathematics from the University of Leeds in 1989. Widely known for his expertise in computational mathematics, high-order methods and adaptive grid methods, Professor Tang belongs to the winner’s circle in mathematics, many times over.

Among his numerous honours are the Feng Kang Prize for Scientific Computing, First Prize in the Natural Science category of Tertiary Institutions Science and Technology Awards courtesy of China’s Ministry of Education, and Second Prize in the National Natural Science Award.

He has also been on another honour roll of China’s Ministry of Education as a Changjiang Scholar, and in China’s Thousand Talents Plan. Among his various influential leadership positions, he was proud of having served as President of the Hong Kong Mathematical Society, and as a seasoned editor of numerous peer-reviewed journals.

Professor Tang’s honours are as international as they are multiple. They include election as a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society and a Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). In 2017 came his crowning glory when he was elected as Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. A year later, he was an invited speaker at the 2018 International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM). Being asked to address the ICM is considered one of the highest honours for a mathematician.

Long a faculty member at Simon Fraser University, Canada, between 1990 and 1998, he subsequently served at Hong Kong Baptist University from 1998 to 2015, in a variety of key roles, from Head of the Department of Mathematics, Dean of Science, Director of Graduate School, to Associate Vice-President. Before joining UIC, Professor Tang was the Vice-president and Provost at the Southern University of Science and Technology as well as its Chair Professor of Mathematics.
 
Present at the creation of the College, as a founding member of the UIC Council, Professor Tang helped guide the fledgling institution to its maturity. It could be said that his history with the College has come full circle, beginning service on its Council at its infancy and culminating in its Presidency when it has reached full-fledged status.


ProfessorChenZhi 1Vice President (Academic Affairs)
Professor Chen Zhi

Prof. Chen is an internationally acclaimed scholar and researcher in Chinese Studies. His diversified interests in Chinese Studies include classical studies and early Chinese culture and history, historical writings, traditional Chinese poetry, excavated documents and paleography: bronze inscriptions and bamboo and silk writings, and intellectual history of the Ming and Qing dynasty.  

In addition to his remarkable scholarship, Prof. Chen is also an experienced university administrator. Apart from being the Head of Department of Chinese in HKBU between 2010 and 2013, Prof. Chen was Acting Dean of the Faculty of Arts between 2015 and 2017, held the Associate Directorship of Institute of Creativity between 2011 and 2017 as well as the Directorship of Mr. Simon Suen and Mrs. Mary Suen Sino-Human Institute between 2011 and 2014. Between 2012 and 2014, Prof. Chen was appointed Acting Director of Jao Tsung-I Academy of Sinology and became the Director from 2014 to present.


zhang cong 20181008Vice President (Students and General Affairs)
Professor Zhang Cong

Prof. Zhang is an organic chemist who earned his Ph.D. degree from the University of Berne, Switzerland. He was a professor of the Lanzhou University and Beijing Normal University. Prof. Zhang was also the Director of the Division of Graduate Education and Training at the Graduate School of the Beijing Normal University.


Professor George Wei2 1Associate Vice President
Professor George Chuxiong Wei

Prof. Wei is a historian of international relations, American history and Chinese history. He earned his MA degree in Modern World History from Henan University, Kaifeng, China in 1982 and PhD degree in History from Washington University, St Louis, USA in 1996. Beginning his academic career at the Institute of History, Shanghai Academy of Social Sciences in 1983, Prof. Wei taught successively at the University of Toledo, Whitman College and Susquehanna University from 1994 to 2006 and the University of Macau (UM) from 2006 to 2018. He has published 16 single/co-authored or single/co-edited books, in addition to numerous single/co-authored articles or book chapters, in either English or Chinese. Currently, he is responsible for the book series on “East-West Interactions” as editor-in-chief at Brill. He is also in charge of publishing a book series on Chinese history and culture, with a research focus on Asian diplomacy.

Prof. Wei has a wealth of experience in administration and management, having served as the Chair of the Department of History both at Susquehanna University and at UM, the Chair of the Advisory Committee for the UM Publication Center, the President of the Association of “Chinese Historians in the United States”, as well as advisor for student organizations and member for various committees at several institutions for higher education in both America and China. Devoted to higher education, Prof. Wei is very familiar with the campus cultures of China and the West, and cognizant of the differences between the Chinese and the Western teaching styles and philosophies.


6Academic Registrar
Professor Li Jianhui

Prof. Li Jianhui received his Bachelor’s Degree from Jilin University and MPhil Degree from Beijing Normal University. He was conferred a PhD by Peking University. Prior to joining UIC, Prof. Li was Deputy Director of the Office of Graduate Training of the Graduate School and has served as Vice Dean of the College of Philosophy, Beijing Normal University for two years. Since 1996, Professor Li has been invited as visiting scholar to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Harvard University, the University of California Berkeley, the University of Oxford, Needham Research Institute of Cambridge and Utrecht University.

Prof. Li’s research is in the area of philosophy of cognitive science, philosophy of mind, philosophy of biology, and social studies of science. His research was supported by the National Social Science Foundation as major programme, key programme, and general programme, respectively. He published over 8 books and more than 60 papers. Two books were awarded as excellent achievements of Beijing Philosophy and Social Science Award, and another book was awarded as excellent achievement of University Research Award of Ministry of Education (Humanity and Social Science).


Managing Director for Finance and Administration
Mr Nelson Chan7

Mr Nelson Chan completed his Higher Diploma in Accountancy at HK Polytechnic in 1977. After graduation, he worked in KPMG Peat Marwick and then the Asia Headquarter of Reader's Digest for a total of 27 years until 2004, rising to the rank of Regional CFO for the latter's Asian operations. Since 2004, he has been a business and financial consultant providing services to joint venture deals in China, business mergers, US reporting and IPO, etc. When time permitted, Nelson also lectured in universities in a number of cities in China and participated in mentoring programmes for accountancy students in Hong Kong.

Nelson is a fellow member of the HK Institution of Certified Public Accountants and also a fellow member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants in UK.


8Dean, Division of Business and Management
Professor Stella Cho

Prof. Stella Cho is a reputable accounting academic. She holds a Ph.D. degree from the University of Hong Kong. Prof. Cho is a Certified Public Accountant, a fellow member of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, the Taxation Institute of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Security Institute, and the Society of Chinese Accountants and Auditors, and a member of the Hong Kong Business Accountants Association, as well as an honorary member of Hong Kong Institute of Accredited Accounting Technicians. Prof. Cho taught at Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU) for many years. She has teaching and research interest in taxation, accounting and corporate governance. Prof. Cho has published books and research papers widely in internationally referred journals. She was a member of the editorial board of the Asia Pacific Journal of Taxation.

Prof. Cho is renowned for her contribution in the accounting profession in Hong Kong. Notably, she was elected as the first woman Council member of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) in 1997, and served as a Council member of the HKICPA for ten terms. She was the President of HKIAAT for three terms. In addition, Prof. Cho was elected as a member of the Election Committee (Accountancy Sub-sector) of the Hong Kong SAR in 2000, 2006 and 2011 respectively. She has also been serving on a number of government committees. In 2016, she was appointed as a member of the Advisory Board of Accounting Standards for Business Enterprises of the Ministry of Finance, P.R.C. In 2017, Prof. Cho was appointed as the Vice President of Accounting Society of Zhuhai. She was elected as a member of the the 4th Council for the Promotion of Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Cooperation in 2018. In 2019, she was appointed as the Deputy Director of the 2nd Accounting Profession Committee of the Council for the Promotion of Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Cooperation, as well as a member of the Greater Bay Area Committee of HKICPA.


20190905 dst dean huang huaxiongDean, Division of Science and Technology
Professor Huang Huaxiong

Prof. Huang received his BSc in mathematics from Fudan University and PhD from the Institute of Applied Mathematics at the University of British Columbia. He was a full professor at York University before joining UIC.

Prof. Huang is one of the leading industrial applied mathematicians in Canada with an international reputation. His research covers a wide range of topics, including fluid mechanics and scientific computing, with applications in finance, biology, physiology and medicine. He has published over 100 papers and serves on the editorial board of several academic journals.

Prof. Huang was a JSPS visiting fellow at the University of Tokyo, a three-time Erskine Visiting Fellow at the University of Canterbury, and a visiting professor at the University of Paris VI. He was a recipient of the Canadian Industrial and Applied Mathematics Society-Fields Institute Industrial Mathematics Prize, and a lifetime fellow of the Fields Institute for Research in the Mathematical Sciences, where he served as the Deputy Director between 2016-2019.


12Assistant to President, Director of Institutional Development Office
Ms Lilian Li

Ms Lilian Li graduated from the Central Conservatory of Music in China and the Whitecliffe College of Arts and Design in New Zealand, and got her dual Master's Degrees in Western Music Theory and Art Management. 

She used to work for the Chinese National Academy of Arts and Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra. In 1998, she established a piano school in Zhuhai and has developed it into a famous local piano training organization. 

In 2010, Lilian achieved recognition as a Prominent Educational Worker by the Zhuhai Municipal Government, and was elected as the Chair of Zhuhai Female Intellectuals Association in 2013.


Assistant to President, Head of President and College Office, Administration Director of Graduate School
Ms Ashura Lam

After obtaining her Bachelor of Social Science (Hons) degree from The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Ms Ashura Lam furthered her studies and fields of research across multiple disciplines. She was awarded a Juris Doctor degree as well as a Master of Science in New Media by The Chinese University of Hong Kong, in addition to becoming a Master of Arts in Language Studies at Hong Kong Baptist University.

Ms Lam possesses over 20 years of experience in administration and committee servicing in universities of Hong Kong and Mainland China. Before assuming her current responsibilities, she served as the Director of UIC's Academic and Administrative Quality Assurance Office and Assistant to Vice-President (Academic).

北师港浸大校董会主席、前全国人大常委会副委员长:许嘉璐 教授    
1

许嘉璐教授1959年毕业于北京师范大学并留校任教,1987-1994年任北京师范大学副校长及全国人大常委,其后任国家语言文字委员会主任及全国人大常委会副委员长。许教授专长文字学及语言学,著作甚丰,2003年获香港浸会大学荣誉文学博士学位。2005年,在两校共同推举之下,许教授出任北师港浸大校董会主席。


President Tang2 1校长:汤涛 教授

数学家,中国科学院院士

汤教授1984年毕业于北京大学数学系,1989年获得英国利兹大学应用数学博士学位,其研究领域为计算数学,在高精度和自适应计算方法研究领域做出了重要学术成就,因此荣获冯康科学计算奖,教育部自然科学一等奖,国家自然科学二等奖。汤教授是教育部长江学者讲座教授、国家千人计划学者,曾担任香港数学会理事长等重要学术职务。他还是数个著名学术刊物的主编、副主编或编委。

鉴于汤教授的学术影响力,他获选美国数学学会会士、美国工业与应用数学学会会士,并于2017年获选中国科学院院士,2018年获邀成为国际数学家大会报告人。

汤涛教授1990至1998年执教于加拿大西门菲莎大学,1998至2015年任职于香港浸会大学,历任数学系系主任、理学院院长、研究生院院长、协理副校长等多个重要职位。

汤教授是北师港浸大的创校校董,加入北师港浸大之前担任南方科技大学副校长兼教务长,数学系讲席教授。


ProfessorChenZhi 1学术副校长:陈致 教授

陈致教授是国际知名的文史及汉学研究学者。他从事多领域的汉学研究,涵盖古典文学研究与中国早期文化与历史、中国古代诗歌、出土文献与古文字(金文与简帛文字),以及明清思想史。

陈教授不仅学术成就卓著,还具备丰富的大学管理经验。2010年至2013年,陈教授任香港浸会大学中国语言文学系主任;2011年至2014年任孙少文伉俪人文中国研究所所长;2011年至2017年任创意研究院副院长;2012年至2014年出任饶宗颐国学院署理院长,并于2014年至今任饶宗颐国学院院长;2015年至2017年任文学院署理院长。


zhang cong 20181008副校长:张聪 教授

张聪教授是有机化学家。曾留学瑞士伯尔尼大学并获得博士学位,在国外学习和工作六年多。曾任兰州大学教授、北京师范大学教授、北京师范大学研究生院培养处处长。


Professor George Wei2 1协理副校长:魏楚雄 教授

魏楚雄教授,历史学家,苏州大学讲座教授、上海社科院历史研究所客座教授,主要研究国际关系、中国近现代史、美国历史等。1982年于河南大学获得世界现代史硕士学位,1996年于美国华盛顿大学获得历史学博士学位。魏楚雄教授原系上海社会科学院历史研究所助理研究员,后于1994年至2006年间在美国俄亥俄州多利多大学、美国华盛顿州维特曼大学、美国宾夕法尼亚州塞斯奎汉纳大学任教;2006年至2018年于澳门大学任教。魏教授曾撰写及编辑(包括合作编辑)了16本中英文书籍,另在海内外发表多篇中英文学术文章。目前他仍在负责博睿出版社“东西方交流”系列丛书的主编工作,并负责一系列有关中国历史文化的系列丛书的出版工作。

魏教授在行政和管理工作上具有丰富的经验,曾在塞斯奎汉纳大学和澳门大学担任历史系主任,以及澳门大学出版中心咨询委员会主席、留美历史协会主席、美国亚洲研究协会亚特兰大中部地区分会顾问团成员、中美多所高校的学生组织顾问和各类委员会成员。魏教授致力于高等教育事业,熟悉中西方文化和中美校园文化,并深刻了解中西方教学风格和理念的差异。


4教务长:李建会 教授

李建会教授分别在吉林大学、北京师范大学、北京大学取得哲学学士、硕士和博士学位,是北师大的博士生导师。在北师大工作期间,曾担任哲学学院副院长、研究生院培养处副处长等职位,先后到美国威斯康星大学哲学系、哈佛大学哲学系和科学史系、加州大学伯克利分校科学技术史办公室、英国牛津大学、剑桥李约瑟研究所和荷兰乌德勒支大学等国外大学进行学术访问。

李建会教授擅长的研究领域包括认知科学哲学、心灵哲学、生命科学哲学和科学技术与社会等。他的研究曾分别获得国家社会科学基金重大项目、重点项目和一般项目的立项支持。李教授出版了超过8本书和60多篇论文,其中有两本书获北京市哲学社会科学优秀成果奖,还有一本获教育部高等学校科学研究优秀成果奖(人文与社会科学)。


7财务及行政执行总裁:陈立信 先生

陈立信先生1977年获得香港理工学院的高级会计文凭。毕业后的27年中先后就职于毕马威会计师事务所和《读者文摘》亚洲总部,并于1997年升任《读者文摘》亚洲总部的区域财务总监,主管亚洲区事务。从2004年起,作为商业财务顾问,陈立信先生开始为国内的融资合作、企业合并、会计事务和IPO等方面提供咨询服务。时间允许下,陈立信先生也曾在国内多家大学举行讲座,及为香港的会计专业学生提供辅导。陈立信先生是香港会计师公会,以及英国注册会计师协会的资深会员。


7工商管理学部院长: 左龙佩兰 教授

左龙佩兰教授是杰出的会计学者,持香港大学哲学博士学位。她是香港注册会计师,同时是香港会计师公会、特许公认会计师公会、香港税务学会、香港证券专业学会、及香港华人会计师公会的资深会员,也是香港商界会计师协会的会员及香港财务会计协会荣誉会员。左教授曾在香港理工大學任教多年,在教学研究,管理培训和高校行政领域积累了丰富的经验。她的教学研究领域包括税务政策、会计及公司管治,在国际学术和专业杂志发表不少论文及出版书籍,曾任亚太税务杂志编辑委员会会员。

左教授在香港的会计专业领域有很高的名望,曾任香港会计师公会十届理事及三届香港财务会计协会会长。她在2000年,2006年和2011年连续三届当选香港特别行政区选举委员会(会计界别)选委。此外,她亦任多项香港特区政府公职。2016年,左教授获中华人民共和国财政部聘任为中华人民共和国财政部企业会计准则咨询委员会委员。2017年,她获选为珠海市会计学会副会长。2018年,她当选为广东省粤港澳合作促进会第四届理事会理事。2019年,她获任为广东省粤港澳合作促进会-第二届会计专业委员会副主任、以及香港会计师公会大湾区委员会成员。


20190905 dst dean huang huaxiong理工科技学部院长: 黄华雄 教授

黄华雄教授获复旦大学数学学士学位,加拿大英属哥伦比亚大学应用数学研究所博士学位。在加入北师港浸大之前,他是加拿大约克大学的教授。

黄教授是加拿大知名工业应用数学家,享有国际声誉。他的研究涉及广泛的主题,包括流体力学和科学计算,以及它们在金融、生物、生理学和医学的应用。黄教授发表了100多篇论文,同时担任多家学术期刊的编委。

黄教授曾作为日本学术振兴会(JSPS)海外访问研究员访问东京大学,先后三次任新西兰坎特伯雷大学厄斯金访问教授,还曾任巴黎第六大学的访问教授。黄教授是加拿大工业应用数学菲尔兹奖的获得者,他是菲尔兹数学科学研究所的终身研究员,并在2016-2019期间出任研究所常务副所长一职。


7校长助理、学校发展处处长:李宁宁 女士

李宁宁女士毕业于中央音乐学院和新西兰怀特克里夫艺术设计学院,拥有西方音乐理论研究和艺术管理双硕士学位,曾任职北京中国艺术研究院音乐研究所和奥克兰爱乐乐团市场部。李宁宁女士2006年加盟北师港浸大,2010年曾荣获珠海市先进教育工作者荣誉,2013年出任珠海知识女性联合会创会会长。


校长助理、学校办公室主任、研究生院行政处长:林恬在 女士

林恬在女士学识背景丰富,在多个学科领域均有研究。她在香港中文大学读取社会科学学士(荣誉)学位后,又获得新媒体理学硕士和法律博士学位。此外,她还在香港浸会大学取得语言研究文学硕士学位。

林女士专擅行政管理和委员会服务,在香港和内地高校拥有超过20年的工作经验。2013年加入北师港浸大时,她曾担任学术与行政质量保证处处长和副校长(学术)助理。